5 things I wish I could tell my 18-year-old self

It’s almost the end of 2014, and it’s been another crazy ride for me. Now that I’m looking back as a 25-year-old, sometimes I really wish that I could travel back in time and give my young self a good punch in the face. Or maybe not, because everything I’ve gone through happens for a reason? Regardless, if I was given the chance to do that, here are a few things that I wish I could tell the innocent me…

1. Work hard on what you like.
Persistence and patience are what you lack the most. No matter how much you love something at the beginning, you’re almost always going to give it up after a while. You should have picked an interest and stayed true to it. Trust me, you can actually do it even though you always tell yourself that you can’t.

2. Don’t overthink or worry about anything.
You’re gonna pay a huge cost for overthinking and worrying about everything that happens or even will never happen. Stay away from these unhealthy psychological activities and stop thinking too much.

3. Don’t trust your bosses and colleagues with all your heart.
Things are entirely different in workplace than those in your college days. Control your emotions and don’t let everyone in the office know what you’re thinking, and keep your observations to yourself only. If you don’t stick to this rule, you’re gonna suffer a lot.

4. Stay away from bad relationships.
The wrong people are going to abuse you, both physically and mentally. Ignore them, do not compromise and do not fall into their trap. Give yourself time, and you will find the one guy who’s meant for you.

5. Be confident in yourself.
No matter how many times you’ve been laughed at as the “fat and ugly” girl, and no matter how many times you’ve fallen, you can ALWAYS get up from that. So walk on, believe in yourself, and you’re gonna win at last.

“You’re more resilient than you think.”

Leave a Reply

